I was ready for work pretty early; 6:29, there was a feeling of satisfaction knowing that I won’t have to walk like I’m being chased by a crooked old man.

I felt tiny drops on my shoulder “Please be the morning dew” I prayed silently. No It wasn’t…”  The cloud was pregnant and it was obvious that it’s expected to deliver soon. I didn’t panic because the security post wasn’t too far from where I stood but I definitely had to walk like I was being chased. This time the crooked old man seemed really out to get me. 

rain

“Good morning, can I sit here for a while please” I asked in the most polite manner. “Sure, please sit” he replied almost like it was a pleasure to have me sit next to him.   “How was your night ma’am” he asked smiling at me “Very well, thank you” I said briefly, I was obviously avoiding a conversation. I reached for my phone to see what my daily devotion had in store for today; may be it’ll help me be happy about the rain. It talked about suffering, not what I expected but I read it anyway. Few minutes later another security man walked in, we greeted. He looked surprised to see the rain “it’s not raining where I’m coming from.” where? I asked. I wasn’t surprised at all, I’d seen something like that before. It would rain in a particular place and not the other but the same area. I’d always just thought mother nature gets really playful sometimes. I wanted to know where it wasn’t raining; if it wasn’t far I could risk getting wet with hopes to get dry on my way to work. “Just the junction before this one” he replied confidently. Aha! I had to go finally.  “I’m sorry I don’t have an umbrella, a beautiful girl like you really shouldn’t get wet on a Monday morning” the first security man said with compassion in his voice. “It’s not a problem, I’ll be fine.” I said and hurried out into the rain. “Have a lovely day and be careful my dear” at least that’s what I thought I heard him say next. It really wasn’t raining here. I smiled cheerfully. Then it dropped again, this time on my face. It certainly wasn’t the morning dew. I panicked, everyone went about looking for where to take shade, nobody apologized for not having an umbrella to shade me from the rain, nobody cared if I was too beautiful to get wet on a Monday morning.

wp-1485977975349.jpg

Then I remembered the security man who had shown me care even when I was too busy to notice. I stood still with my face down. How many other people have shown me so much love and care and I just stood there without paying attention? I pondered. This day was definitely a lesson, one I’ll never forget and I certainly learned something, to pay attention to the ones who love and care for me.

 

10 thoughts on “THE CARES WE IGNORE

  1. Thank you for this story. So often we are in a hurry to notice or distracted by what we want to see, we don’t realize the beautiful people or rhe simple things to appreciate them.
    👍😆

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

